Profils Biographiques

Gravure représentant le Marquis de Lafayette à la fin de la campagne de 1781 en Virginie (avec l'aimable autorisation des Archives d'Etat de la Floride)

Marie-Joseph Paul Yves Roch Gilbert du Motier, Marquis de La Fayette/Lafayette (1757-1834). Issu de la noblesse, Lafayette hérite d'une grande fortune. En avril 1771, à l'âge de 13 ans, il entre dans l'armée. En 1777, après des négociations avec Benjamin Franklin, avec petit groupe de volontaires composé de 18 officiers français il s'embarque pour l'Amérique du Nord, où, en Juillet il est nommé major général de l'armée des Etats Unis..

C'est à la bataille de Brandywine (près de Chadds Ford, Pa), le 11 septembre 1777, qu'il reçoit le baptême du feu. Par la suite il participe à la bataille de Barren Hill, le 20 mai 1778, et à la bataille de Monmouth le 28 juin de la même année gagnant ainsi le respect du Général Washington et de ses troupes. Après ces brillants états de service, en février 1779, Lafayette repart pour Paris où il est reçu en héros. Il persuade le roi Louis XVI d'envoyer une armée pour aider les Américains dans leur guerre d'Indépendance contre les Anglais. En Avril 1780 il repart pour l'Amérique où il rejoint George Washington, et, l'année suivante joue un rôle important dans le siège de Yorktown (28 sept - 19 octobre 1781). En janvier 1782 Lafayette repart pour la France. Après la pacification franco-britannique en 1784, Lafayette entreprend un nouveau voyage en Amérique. En 1788, il adhère au groupe abolitionniste français " La Société des amis des Noirs " (Society of the Friends of the Blacks) qui avait à sa tête le futur révolutionnaire Jacques Pierre Brissot.

Appelé à l'Assemblée des Notables Lafayette travaille activement à la préparation des Etats Généraux réunis en mai 1789 pour tenter de résoudre les problèmes économiques, politiques, sociaux et autres de la France. Le 16 juillet 1789 Lafayette est nommé Commandant de la Garde Nationale de Paris. Cette même année il est également co-fondateur d'un club politique des " Amis de la Constitution de 1789 " (les Feuillants). Le 14 juillet 1789 Lafayette prête serment et s'engage à " toujours rester fidèle à la nation, à la loi et au Roi".

Promu Lieutenant Général en juin 1791 il est démis de ses fonctions après la fusillade du Champ de Mars et est envoyé au front. Le 20 juin 1792 la France déclare la guerre à l'Autriche, en juillet 1792 Lafayette prend le commandement de l'armée du Nord et proteste contre la suspension du Roi. Ayant fait arrêter les représentants du gouvernement envoyés à son quartier général, il est démis de ses fonctions et rappelé à Paris. Cependant, le 19 août 1792, Lafayette et un certain nombre de ses officiers passent à l'ennemi. Loin d'être bien accueilli Lafayette est arrêtée et passe les cinq années suivantes dans différentes forteresses où il est interné. Il est libéré en septembre 1797, à l'occasion des négociations de paix avec l'Autriche. Redevenu simple citoyen, Lafayette se tient éloigné des affaires jusqu'à l'abdication de Napoléon en 1814, date à laquelle il est à nouveau accueilli par le Roi Louis XVIII.

En 1824-25 Lafayette se rend aux Etats Unis. En récompense de ses services le Congrès lui octroie 200.000 dollars et des terres (près de Tallahassee en Floride). De retour en France, Lafayette contracte une pneumonie en février 1834 et meurt en mai, à l'âge de 76 ans. Lafayette est une personnalité de stature internationale, et son rôle dans la révolution américaine a été un facteur important dans les événements qui aboutirent à la révolution qui secoua la France en 1789.

Le Débarquement de Ribault, Lee Adams (1959) (avec l'aimable autorisation de la Ville de Jacksonville)

Jean Ribault (1520-65), Capitaine de marine huguenot (Protestant calviniste), est né à Dieppe en Haute Normandie.

Durant les Guerres de Religion en France (1562-98) il est sous les ordres de l'Amiral Gaspard de Coligny. En février 1562, Coligny envoie Ribault étudier la possibilité d'établir une colonie huguenote dans le Nouveau Monde. Ayant quitté la France le 30 avril avec trois bateaux transportant quelque 160 colons, Ribault finit par arriver à l'embouchure de la rivière St Johns dans l'actuelle Jacksonville (Floride). Poursuivant son voyage Ribault atteint Port Royal Sound (actuelle Caroline du Sud) où il établit une petite colonie et construit un fort (Charlesfort). Fin 1562 Ribault repart pour la France puis se rend en Angleterre pour défendre la cause des Huguenots, mais pris pour un espion il est arrêté. Pendant son séjour en prison il écrit " L'histoire du Premier Voyage de Jean de Ribault ... en Floride, en l'an 1562 ".

En juin 1565, Jean Ribault est libéré par les Anglais et Coligny le renvoie en Floride avec cinq navires et 800 nouveaux colons. Arrivé en août il trouve un abri temporaire à Fort Caroline construit par son officier en second le Capitaine René Goulaine de Laudonnière. Ribault relève Laudonnière de son commandement et prend lui-même le commandement de la colonie. Peu après, Ribault est confronté aux Espagnols qui, eux aussi, veulent prendre le contrôle de la Floride. Le 29 septembre 1565, Don Pedro Menendez de Avilès attaque Fort Caroline et tue pratiquement tous les Huguenots. Ribault essaie de poursuivre les Espagnols, mais il est pris dans une tempête et fait naufrage dans l'anse de Matanzaz, à proximité de St. Augustine. Le 12 octobre Ribault et ses hommes (350 membres d'équipage, environ) sont encerclés par les Espagnols et passés au fil de l'épée en tant qu'hérétiques protestants. Seuls sont épargnés ceux qui se disent catholiques.

René Goulaine de Laudonnière, (avec l'aimable autorisation des Archives d'Etat de Floride)

René Goulaine de Laudonnière (1529-74), capitaine de marine français, natif du Poitou et Officier en second de Jean Ribault durant la première expédition de Floride en 1562. Au cours de son second voyage, les 29-30 juin 1564, il fait construire Fort Caroline, au sommet de St Johns Bluff dans l'actuelle Jacksonville. Le 3 août 1565, Laudonnière collecte des vivres et fait venir un bateau dans le but de renvoyer des colons en France. Alors qu'il attend un vent favorable, le 10 septembre 1565, il voit arriver Ribault accompagné de soldats et colons. Ribault informe Laudonnière qu'il a été relevé de ses fonctions mais lui propose de partager avec lui le commandement de la nouvelle colonie. Jugeant cet arrangement inacceptable, Laudonnière décide de regagner la France. Mais, avec 100 colons et seulement 20 soldats il ne peut quitter Fort Caroline assiégé par les Espagnols. Le 29 septembre les Espagnols s'emparent de la garnison huguenote et tuent la plupart des colons mâles. Laudonnière et 50 de ses coreligionnaires huguenots parviennent à s'enfuir et font voile vers l'Europe. Laudonnière arrive à Paris en décembre 1565 et disparaît dans le tumulte des Guerres de Religion. En 1572 on retrouve pendant un certain temps Laudonnière à La Rochelle, dans la Marine Marchande, mais il meurt à Saint Germain-en-Laye en 1574. Ses souvenirs " La remarquable histoire des trois voyages de capitaines français en Floride " furent publiés en 1586.

Achille Murat (avec l'aimable autorisation des Archives d'Etat de Floride)

Achille Murat (1801-47). Charles Louis Napoléon Achille, 2nd Prince Murat (Prince Héréditaire de Clèves Berg, 1806, et Prince Héritier de Naples (1808-1815) est né le 21 juin 1801, à Paris. Il est le fils de Caroline Bonaparte, sœur de Napoléon, et du Général Joachim Murat, futur Maréchal d'Empire (1804) et Roi de Naples (1808-1815). En 1815, alors qu'il tente de reprendre le pouvoir à Naples, Murat est capturé et exécuté. Sa famille s'exile en Autriche. En 1821 Achille décide de se rendre aux Etats Unis. Après un court séjour à New York, il voyage à travers les Etats Unis et, en 1823, arrive à St Augustine, Floride. Bien intégré dans la société de la ville, il devient membre de la loge maçonnique et bientôt achète une plantation qu'il appelle Parthenope. En 1825 Murat quitte St Augustine pour la Floride Centrale où il acquiert une autre plantation, Lipona, située à l'est de Tallahassee. Le 12 juin 1826 Murat épouse Catherine Daingerfield Willis Gray, arrière petite nièce de George Washington. Il commence sa carrière militaire dans la milice de Floride et obtient le grade de Lieutenant-Colonel. En 1827 il se rend en Caroline du Sud. Suite à la Révolution de Juillet, en 1830, en France, Murat retourne en Europe et pendant une courte période il est colonel dans l'armée Belge. Pendant son séjour en Belgique et en France il essaie, en vain, de récupérer une partie de la fortune familiale et des propriétés de ses parents. En 1834, les Murat rejoignent la Floride. Achille est nommé juge du Comté de Jefferson et, en 1835, il travaille comme avocat à New-Orléans. En 1836 il fait un grand voyage en Europe, mais finalement revient dans sa plantation de Floride où il meurt le 15 avril 1847. Il est enterré dans le cimetière St Johns de Tallahassee.

Simon Bernard (1779-1839). Général français du génie, né à Dôle (Jura), Bernard entra à l'Ecole Polytechnique en Décembre 1794. Promu Lieutenant, durant les guerres de la Révolution française (1792-1800) il servit dans différentes armées de la République et du Consulat.

Lorsque Napoléon fut proclamé Empereur en 1804, Bernard était un officier du génie expérimenté et sa promotion est rapide en raison de sa bravoure au combat et de ses compétences techniques dans le domaine des fortifications. En 1814 il fut promu général de brigade par Napoléon quelques semaines seulement avant la première abdication de l'empereur.

A la Restauration, Bernard est bien accueilli par le roi Louis XVIII qui le confirma dans ses grades et titres et le nomma ingénieur militaire de la forteresse de Rochefort. Cependant, après le retour de Napoléon de l'Ile d'Elbe en Mars 1815, Bernard se rallia à lui et prit part à la bataille de Waterloo. Après la seconde abdication de Napoléon, Bernard, en conflit avec le nouveau Ministre de la Guerre de la Restauration fut contraint d'abandonner l'armée. Refusant les offres du tsar de Russie, Bernard émigra aux Etats-Unis où, en 1816 il fut nommé Brigadier Général de l'Armée des Etats-Unis. Bernard entreprit plusieurs projets de fortifications à New York, en Alabama et Floride. Il conçut en particulier Fort Pickens (construit entre 1829 et 1834) à l'extrémité occidentale de l'île Santa Rosa, Pensacola.

Florida Department of State, Division of Historical Resources
Tallahassee, 2012

Biographical Profiles

Engraving of Marquis de Lafayette at the end of the 1781 campaign in Virginia (courtesy of the State Archives of Florida)

Marie-Joseph Paul Yves Roch Gilbert du Motier, Marquis de La Fayette/Lafayette (1757-1834). Born into nobility, Lafayette had inherited a large fortune. By the age of 13, in April 1771, he began his military service. In 1777, after negotiations with Benjamin Franklin, he formed a small volunteer force of 18 French officers and sailed to North America, where in July, he was appointed a major general in the Army of the United States.

Lafayette's baptism under fire came at the Battle of Brandywine (near Chadds Ford, Pa.) on September 11, 1777. He then participated in the Battle of Barren Hill, May 20, 1778, and the Battle of Monmouth, June 28, earning respect from General Washington and his troops. After such a stalwart service, in February 1779, Lafayette returned to a hero's welcome in Paris. He persuaded King Louis XVI to send a force to aid the Americans in their War of Independence against Britain. In April 1780, he returned to rejoin George Washington and the next year played an active role in the siege of Yorktown (Sept. 28 – Oct. 19, 1781). In January 1782, Lafayette returned to France. Following the Franco-British pacification in 1784, Lafayette made another journey to America. In 1788, he also joined the French abolitionist group "Society of the Friends of the Blacks' (Fr. Société des amis des Noir) led by a future revolutionary, Jacques Pierre Brissot.

Lafayette became deeply involved in the Assembly of Notables, which prepared the way for the Estates-General meeting that convened in May 1789, aiming to remedy France's economical, colonial, political, social and other problems. On July 16, 1789, Lafayette was appointed commander of the Paris National Guard and also co-founded a political club "Friends of the 1789 Constitution" (also known as feuillants). On July 14, 1790, Lafayette took the civic oath vowing to "be ever faithful to the nation, to the law, and to the king."

Lafayette was promoted to lieutenant general in June 1791, but after the Champs de Mars's massacre in July he was discharged from his post and was sent to the front line. On April 20, 1792, France declared war against Austria; in July 1792, Lafayette took command of the Army of the North, where he protested the suspension of the king. He arrested the government representatives sent to his headquarters – an act that earned him dismissal and recall to Paris. However, on Aug. 19, 1792, Lafayette and several of his staff officers decided to cross the frontier to join the enemy. Far from being welcomed, Lafayette was arrested, and for the next five years was confined in various fortresses. He was freed in September 1797 at the time of the peace negotiations with Austria. As a private citizen, Lafayette took no part in French affairs until Napoleon's abdication in 1814, when he was welcomed back by the new French King, Louis XVIII.

Lafayette visited the United States in 1824-25 and, for his distinctive service, Congress awarded him $200,000 and his choice of a township worth of 36 square miles of land (near Tallahassee, Florida). In February 1834, Lafayette caught pneumonia and died in May at the age of 76. A figure of a world stature, Lafayette's role in the American Revolution was an important factor in preparing the way for the upheaval that overtook France since 1789.

"Ribault's Landing", Lee Adams (1959). (courtesy of the City of Jacksonville)

Jean Ribault (1520-65), a Huguenot (Calvinist Protestant) sea captain, was a native of Dieppe, Upper Normandy.

During the Wars of Religion in France (1562-98), he was under orders of Admiral of France Gaspard de Coligny. In February 1562, he sent Ribault to explore the possibility of establishing a Huguenot colony in the New World. Leaving France on April 30 with three ships carrying some 160 colonists, Ribault ended up at the mouth of the St. Johns River in modern-day Jacksonville, Florida. Eventually, Ribault came to Port Royal Sound (present-day South Carolina), where he established a small settlement and built a fort (Charlesfort). By the end of 1562, Ribault returned to France, and then traveled to England to promote the Huguenot cause but was detained as a spy. While in prison, he composed "Narrative of the First Voyage of Jean de Ribault... in Florida, A.D. 1562."

In June 1565, Ribault was released from English custody, and Coligny sent him back to Florida with five ships and 800 new settlers. He arrived in August and found a temporary shelter at Fort Caroline, which had been built by his second-in-command, Captain René Goulaine de Laudonnière. Ribault relieved Laudonnière from his command and assumed leadership at the settlement. Ribault soon encountered Spaniards who also tried to establish control in Florida. On September 29, 1565, Don Pedro Menéndez de Avilés attacked Fort Caroline and killed all but a few French Huguenots. Ribault, in his attempt to pursue the Spaniards, was hit by a storm and was shipwrecked at the Matanzas Inlet, near St. Augustine. On October 12, Ribault and his crew (about 350) were surrounded by Spaniards and put to a sword as Protestant heretics; only those French who supposedly professed Catholicism were spared.

René Goulaine de Laudonnière, (courtesy of the State Archives of Florida).

René Goulaine de Laudonnière (1529-74), was a French naval captain, a native of Poitou, and Jean Ribault's second-in-command on the first expedition to Florida in 1562. During his second voyage, on June 29-30, 1564, he built Fort Caroline atop St. Johns Bluff in present-day Jacksonville. On August 3, 1565, Laudonnière collected food and brought a ship, so he could send colonists back to France. While he was waiting for a favorable wind, on September 10, 1565, Ribault arrived with more settlers and soldiers. Ribault informed Laudonnière that he had been relieved of his authority, but offered him a shared ruling over the new colony. This arrangement was unacceptable to Laudonnière, who resolved to return to France. However, with 100 civilians and only 20 soldiers, Laudonnière found himself blocked at Fort Caroline, which was besieged by the Spaniards. On Sept. 29, the Spaniards overwhelmed the lightly defended Huguenot garrison and killed most of the male colonists; Laudonnière and nearly 50 of his fellow Huguenots managed to escape and soon sailed toward Europe. Laudonnière reached Paris around December 1565 and then vanished in the turmoil of the Catholic-Protestant Religious Wars. In 1572, Laudonnière emerged as a merchant mariner at La Rochelle for a while, but died at St. Germain-en-Laye in 1574. His memoir,"The notable history of Florida's three voyages by French captains," was published in 1586.

Achille Murat (courtesy of the State Archives of Florida)

Achille Murat (1801-47). Charles Louis Napoléon Achille, 2nd Prince Murat (Hereditary Prince of Cleve Berg, 1806, and Crown Prince of Naples, 1808-15) was born on January 21, 1801, in Paris to Napoléon's sister Caroline Bonaparte and General Joachim Murat, future marshal of the French Empire (1804) and King of Naples (1808-15). In 1815, after his father was captured and executed while trying to regain control of Naples, the Murat family was exiled to Austria. In 1821, Achille decided to move to the United States. After a short stay in New York, he traveled through the United States, and in 1823 arrived in St. Augustine, Fla. He meshed with city society, joined the Masonic lodge and soon purchased a plantation called Parthenope. In 1825, Murat moved to Middle Florida, where he acquired another plantation, Lipona, located east of Tallahassee. On July 12, 1826, Murat married Catherine Daingerfield Willis Gray, who was the great-grandniece of George Washington. He began his military service in the Florida militia and obtained the rank of lieutenant colonel. In 1827, he traveled to South Carolina. Following the July Revolution of 1830 in France, Murat returned to Europe and served briefly as colonel of the Belgian Legion. While in Belgium and France, he had hoped to regain part of the family fortune that he believed to be his based on the properties of his parents. His attempts were futile, however, and in 1834 the Murats returned to Florida. Achille was appointed a judge in Jefferson County and, in 1835, he worked as a lawyer in New Orleans. In 1839, he traveled extensively across Europe but eventually he returned to his plantation in Florida, where died on April 15, 1847. He is buried at St. Johns Cemetery in Tallahassee.

Simon Bernard (1779-1839), was a French general of engineers. Born in Dôle (Département of Jura), Bernard was admitted to the famous École Polytechnique in December 1794. Promoted to a lieutenant, he served during the French Revolutionary Wars (1792-1800) in various armies of the French Republic and Consulate. By the time Napoleon came to power as the Emperor in 1804, Bernard was an experienced engineer officer, and was quickly promoted for his bravery in combat and practical knowledge of the art of fortifications. Bernard was promoted to brigadier general by Napoleon just a few weeks before the Emperor's first abdication in 1814. Bernard was welcomed by the returned King, Louis XVIII, who confirmed all his ranks and titles and appointed him a senior military engineer at the Rochefort fortress. However, when Napoleon returned to France in March 1815, Bernard followed him, taking part in the final Battle of Waterloo (June 1815). After Napoleon's second abdication, Bernard was compelled to abandon French service because of his conflict with the newly established Royal War Ministry. Refusing an offer for employment from Tsar Alexander I of Russia, Bernard emigrated to the United States, where he was appointed brigadier general of the U.S. Army in 1816. Bernard undertook several fortification projects in New York, Alabama and Florida. One of the fortifications he designed was Fort Pickens (constructed 1829-34) at the western tip of Santa Rosa Island, Pensacola.

Florida Department of State, Division of Historical Resources
Tallahassee, 2012